Smoothe Sailing – Tips for the Commuter Chick

So just like you other hard-working, on-the-path-to-success Latinas, I myself am busy doing the same. At the moment I have two trabajos. Half the week I spend in the city as an events assistant, and the other half I’m selling high-end electric cars. Extremely different jobs, I’m aware, but you’re not reading this for your interest in my choice of jobs.

photoOn the days I commute into the city, I am lugging around enough stuff to consider estos días lifting days at the gym. And everyday as a carry on through my routine, I think about all the solutions to making my commute a smoother, hassle-free experience. From one commuter muchacha to another, here’s my tips on how to commute and enjoy it:

1. Always wear comfortable shoes. This is the primal rule to commuting. If you’re shoes are uncomfortable, you won’t be able to walk as quickly, which means if you are running late, you will be late. If you plan on wearing heels, purchase a pair of comfortable flats that will easily fit in your bag. I came across CitySlips, which sells commuter-friendly flats with a carrying bag that opens up large enough to hold your heels.

2. Do not buy an oversized bag. Studies show (and by studies I mean my own personal experience) the larger the bag, the more space you are going to feel compelled to fill, therefore the more junk you will find reasons for needing to carry with you. Basically, the larger the bag, the heavier the weight you’ll be carrying resulting in more back problems and shoulder aches.

3. Bring reading materials. No matter how short or long your commute, you’re going to want some form of entertainment. And since as a society we refuse to make eye contact and smile at others, find some reading material worth focusing your eyes on. I carry my iPad mini with me everywhere, I even have a keyboard case for it, which comes in handy when I have a blog post idea or work to do on the road. I have all of my magazine subscriptions right on my iPad mini, as well as my Nook books, so it consolidates the space that books, magazines and a laptop would take.

4. Don’t forget a charger!! As an events assistant, there’s nights where I have to stay in the city later to work an event, which means a full day of cell phone usage. Thankfully, I’ve learned my lesson enough times to know, it is of the utmost importance to always have my charger handy. If I am headed home late night and I have 0% battery life than I feel like I’m setting myself up for danger. Outlets are everywhere, but chargers aren’t. So invest in a spare charger and throw it in the bag.

5. Something warm. Even in the summer months, though we are sweating bullets outside, as soon as we step into our office the shivers will kick in. My cubicle happens to be right underneath the AC, which makes me feel like I’m working inside an igloo. I always throw a cardigan or an over-sized scarf wrap in my bag so that no matter which igloo I end up in, I’ll be a warm Eskimo.

6. Transit Apps. These are key to not getting lost or missing trains. I work in NYC but live in NJ, the NJ Transit app helps me track train times, warn me of delays or schedule changes, and lets me know if I have to make connections where to do so. I also have the Kickmap app, which is a map of all of the subway lines in NYC. That app helped me learn how to master the subway system in NYC and I am forever agradecía to it. Last but definitely not least, Hopstop. Hopstop helps you in any city, and it was my saving grace when I had my very first internship in the city. I remember feeling as though running an errand was the most daunting task my boss could give me, until Hopstop entered my life. Just input the start address and end address and wala! directions that tell you whether to make a left or right at the next intersection while on foot and which train to catch if a train is needed. You’re welcome.

Now that you have the 6 most important tips on commuting, time to use Sunday to prep for the beginning of a new work week! ¡Buena suerte! chicas.

Leave a comment